Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board for EntomoPharm consists of international researchers from academia, biotech and pharmaceutical industry. The objective of the scientific advisory board is to provide independent advice and peer review to EntomoPharm on the scientific, technical and commercial aspects of ADMET modeling in insects.

Members of the board:

Professor Joan Abbott:
Joan Abbott is Professor of Neuroscience at King’s College London (KCL). MA, PhD Cambridge University, Natural Sciences.  Post-doctoral fellow at Duke University USA and University College London then appointed to faculty at KCL.  Director of the KCL Centre for Neuroscience Research CfNR 2000-2003.  Research
interests: physiology, pharmacology, toxicology and pathophysiology of the blood-brain barrier (BBB); measurement and prediction of drug distribution to the CNS, including the influence of brain fluid dynamics.  In vitro models of the BBB.  Evolution and comparative physiology (vertebrates, invertebrates) of the BBB and Neurovascular Unit.  Has served on several national and international committees and editorial boards, including Council, European Society for Neurochemistry; Committee, Physiological Society (Chair 1997-2000),
and grants panels (BBSRC, Wellcome Trust). Has co-organised several international meetings, including International Conference on Cerebral Vascular Biology CVB2001. Has published  >130 publications and reviews.

Dr. Pieter Gaillard:
Pieter Gaillard is Chief Scientific Officer to “to-BBB” in the Netherlands. Pieter obtained an MSc degree in biomedical sciences from Utrecht University, and a PhD degree in pharmacology from Leiden University at the lab of Prof. Douwe Breimer. He is an award-winning researcher who published in several high-ranking journals. Pieter pioneered the development of a Blood-Brain Barrier model in tissue-cultured cells. Based on his unique know-how with this model system, he decided to start his own biotech company to-BBB. Pieter Gaillard has successfully led the company through the discovery and preclinical phases of drug development, delivering the company’s lead
product 2B3-101 in a clinical phase I/II trial. His decades of knowledge on brain diseases and experience with various animal models will guarantee successful project management and completion by industry standards.

Dr. Gerhard Gross:
Gerhard Gross is Head of Drug Metabolism in Lundbeck, Copenhagen. Gerhard has a B.Sc. degree in Physics and Chemistry, and received his M.Sc. in Physics and Chemistry and Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from the University of Marburg where he studied the generation of reactive molecules through flash vacuum pyrolysis. As a postdoc he worked with Prof. Michl in Utah, USA on multiple silicon bonds. In the past years Gerhard was holding several senior positions in pharmaceutical industry among them Department head ADME in Novartis and head
DvDMPK AP, in AstraZeneca.
Gerhard has extensive experience in the area of drug metabolism and drug development. He was setting up ADMET screening and profiling in Novartis and Aventis. He has been a key player in the development and registration of numerous drugs e.g. Glivec, Everolimus, Exjade, Myfortic, Rasilez, Zelmac and Zoledronate. He holds several patents for Glivec, Exjade and Rasilez. Gerhard is the author of 28 publications and has given more than
14 lectures at scientific congresses including running a series of lectures on metabolites and toxicity at the University of Bern, Switzerland.

for brain drug delivery are developed based on the in vivo principles.

Professor Steen Honoré:
Steen Honoré Hansen obtained his degree in pharmacy from The Royal Danish School of Pharmacy in Copenhagen, Denmark. After graduation he worked for four years in a department for analytical chemical research at Dumex Ltd,
Copenhagen. In 1975 he came to the Royal Danish School of Pharmacy, Dept of Organic Chemistry as an assistant professor. In 1977 he became an associate professor in Analytical Chemistry of which he became full professor in 1993. He obtained his D.Sc. degree in separation science in 1990 and he is now at the Department of Pharmaceutics and Analytical Chemistry, The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Copenhagen.
His main research interests are within basic separation sciences (primarily HPLC and CE) in particular on separation mechanisms but also extended into hyphenated techniques using MS, NMR and ICP-MS besides conventional detection techniques.  New techniques and methods are applied in bioanalysis and in drug metabolism. In drug metabolism focus has been on reactive drug metabolites and their possible role in idiosyncratic reactions.
His is the author or co-author of more than 270 papers in international peer-review journals.
For 20 years he was the President of the Scandinavian Section of The Chromatographic Discussion Group until this was changed into the Separation Sciences Foundation where he still is the President. He has been involved in the arrangement of a major number of national and international conferences, lately as the chair of the 26th International Symposium in Chromatography. His has been involved in administrative duties as the Head of Department of Chemistry for three years and Head of Dept. of Analytical Chemistry for six years. Furthermore his has been a member of the Board as well as of the Board of Research for the Royal Danish School of Pharmacy.